JESUS TOUCHING OUR CITY THROUGH US

JESUS TOUCHING OUR CITY THROUGH US

 As we look through our city, we will see many people who apparently don’t know our God, but who God knows and loves.

 These people on the streets probably will never come to a church for a variety of reasons, including: not sure they would be welcomed, Don’t have the “right clothes to wear”.

 The neat thing is that God has told us to go to find people, we aren’t told to sit and wait until they come to us.

 In James 1:27, in the Message, we read;

“real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world:

In Matthew 25 we read

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ 40 “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

 As we go out to meet those on the streets of our city, we go out with the love of Jesus, and all we have to do is greet them and love on them, we don’t have to be concerned about results, God will take care of the results.

 We have an opportunity to go out and share the love of Jesus with many who do not know love at all. As we stretch out our hand to others, we are extending the arm of our Lord Jesus, to show His love.

 We can show them God loves them, we love them and we care for them and desire to help them.

We can let them know we as a church are here for them, and will try to assist any way we can.

 

 

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Homelessness, Jesus, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to JESUS TOUCHING OUR CITY THROUGH US

  1. Absolutely right on! Amen! It’s all about love; once we experience God’s love and presence, in order to keep it…we have to give it away! It becomes “natural” for one in love with thier Lord. Thank you for this blessing.

    • gmgoetz says:

      Thanks for your comments, and for checking my sight. Our Lord Jesus has given me so much, that I just want to allow His Love to flow through and touch everyone, that they will see Him, and come to know Him as Saviour.

  2. GeorgeK says:

    I could not agree more brother! Be ready in all situations to express the Love of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ! To ALL!!

Leave a Reply

