Thanking God / Telling Others

Psalms 9:1
I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; 

I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.

Psalms 9:11
Sing praises to the LORD, who sits enthroned in Zion!

Tell among the peoples his deeds!

During a daily quiet time with Lord, hopefully we all do take some time to sit with Him, read and meditate on His Word, pray, and listen for the Spirit of Jesus to speak into our spirit, or speak through the written Word, there really is much to do.
Two small, by important and powerful points stick out to me from these two short verses in the Book of Psalms, penned by David, under the inspiration of Holy Spirit.
As in verse one, do we give thanks to the Lord, thinking of the many things He has done, and is doing for us? I know I take so many things for granted that Jesus does continually, and has done for many years, in watching over me, it is so easy to take everything for granted. When that happens, I need to repent, ask forgiveness for taking the God of the universe, my Creator, my Saviour, my Sanctifier, my Baptizer, my Healer, my Strength, for granted. I would be nowhere and have nothing without Jesus Christ. There is much to think of, and thank Him for.
In verse eleven, David mentions singing praises to the Lord. Well, I pause there, because I am not a singer, and everyone would run if I was heard, but I do sing and hum quietly, very quietly.
The 2nd part of that short verse, says to tell the people what God has done. This is a part that scares many people. We have a fear that people will laugh at us, or we will lose friends if we say that God took us through a difficult situation, or provided for a need in a seemingly impossible way. 

The more we speak of Jesus, the easier and smoother it does become. Claiming what God has done, does not have to go on for a long period of time at first, it is just planting a few seeds, so people know we are Christians, relying on Jesus Christ. Very few laugh or comment negatively, and many will remember that about you if they have a struggle, and may ask you for prayer.

One important aspect we each need to remember, is we are never alone, Holy Spirit is always with us, He will even guide us in the words to speak.

Pray for an opportunity. 

God’s Blessings.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Evangelism, Faith, Forgiveness, Praising God, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

