God’s Plan – God’s Time

Jeremiah 29:-11-14
11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. 

12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. 

13 You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. 

14 I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the Lord, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.
Have you ever come across a Bible verse, or a short passage, and say to yourself, “Hey, I like that, I am going to claim that verse, remind God of what His Word says, and get on with the good life.” Most of us have probably done that at some time, I admit to being guilty. 
How about the above passage? I have heard parts of it quoted often, and declared over lives. 
Truthfully, God does know the plans He has for us, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. 
God will hear our prayers.

When we seek God with “all our heart” we will find Him.

God will restore fortunes, and gather His people together again.

All verses are good and true.
But: how about reading the preceding verse, Jer. 29:10
Jeremiah 29:10
10 “For thus says the Lord: When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will visit you, and I will fulfill to you my promise and bring you back to this place.

And, was verse 14 noticed?
14 I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the Lord, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.
It was God who sent His people into exile for the 70 years.
God definitely has His plans for our lives, but He also has a timetable, and again, we probably all have recognized at times that God’s timing is not the same as ours. God even told the people that He would fulfill His promise in seventy years. Normally we don’t know how long we have to wait, but the wait is worth it, if we do as God tells us.
Jeremiah 29:4-6
4 “Thus says the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel, to all the exiles whom I have sent into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: 

5 Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce. 

6 Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease.
God told His people to continue on with their lives, get married, have families, work and live.

Jeremiah 29:7
But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the Lord on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare.
Then what may be the most important part of God’s instructions came in verse 7 above.
The people are to seek the welfare of the city where God placed them, praying for the welfare and good of Babylon. As Babylon improved because of God’s people living there and praying, the welfare of God’s people would also improve.
What is our Babylon? What is your Babylon? Are you stuck in a hard place right now?
However it appears, God has His plan for you, and for me.

We are to do the best we can, to make the area better that we are in, regardless of the circumstances, and we are to pray in and for the situation. If there is a difficult time in the workplace, with management or co-workers, do the best job possible, praying for the situation and the people involved. 
The same in school or family situations. If troubles arise, pray for the situation, and for the relationships to improve.

In all these situations, trust in God to see you through, He will, just rely on His timetable, not ours, and doing as He instructs.

God’s Blessings.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Dream, Evangelism, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Praising God, Prayer, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Plan – God’s Time

  1. This reminds me of my post, “you are waiting does not mean you are wasting”.

    God bless you mightily.

Leave a Reply

