Alzheimer’s Is Helping Me Accept Schizophrenia

God Bless you and Alice. Praying for you and Sean. I believe God connected you and Alice to encourage and help one another, even though Alice may not believe it. And…..since Alice is Canadian, she must be alright”.

searching the street

old-lady2To supplement my writing life I’ve started running a senior-care side business. One of my clients, Alice, has early-stage Alzheimer’s and lives in an in-law apartment upstairs in her daughter’s house. She just cognizant enough to be adamant that she doesn’t need help and just demented enough to go missing every now and then.

I’ve been going over there once a week under the guise of “dog sitting” to check up on Alice, try to get her to go outside, and maybe even lure her to lunch at the museum. So far, I’ve gotten inside her private enclave three times for a tour, been invited and uninvited to her summer house at the lake, and vaguely tolerated before being dismissed to the hall landing. Then I go downstairs and savagely sweep and mop her daughter’s kitchen floor, which really is a disgrace.

No prob. Every week it’s a new possibility…

View original post 369 more words

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alzheimer’s Is Helping Me Accept Schizophrenia

  1. Oh wow George! That is spooky, but in the best way, in that wonderful way the Holy Spirit has of placing things we need right in our path! How delightful!

    You didn’t know this, but my son was also diagnosed with schizophrenia while I was working with a guy who had Alzheimer’s. I never really speak of it on the internet, protecting his privacy I suppose, but it was the most horrific, gut wrenching thing ever. It tore our family apart, it threatened my marriage, and it challenged my faith. Oddly, what really began to minister to me was that guy with Alzheimer’s. That was seven years ago. My son is now 26.

    Thanks George, I really needed to read this tonight. 🙂

    • gmgoetz says:

      Praise Jesus. Thanks for sharing, It is always exciting to hear if / when something said or written is Spirit led, and will bless or help someone. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

