Offering Should Cost

Offering Should Cost
‘Then Araunah said to David, “Let my lord the king take and offer up what seems good to him. Here are the oxen for the burnt offering and the threshing sledges and the yokes of the oxen for the wood.

All this, O king, Araunah gives to the king.” And Araunah said to the king, “May the Lord your God accept you.” 
But the king said to Araunah, “No, but I will buy it from you for a price. I will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord my God that cost me nothing.” So David bought the threshing floor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver. 
And David built there an altar to the Lord and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord responded to the plea for the land, and the plague was averted from Israel.’
2 Samuel 24:22-24

King David went to see Araunah, the Jebusite, to attempt to buy his threshing floor, so David could build an altar to the Lord to avert the plague that had come upon the Israelites. 
Araunah offered the threshing floor, plus oxen, plus the yokes of the oxen, for free to King David.

With no hesitation, David refused to accept it at no charge, and said he will purchase it, adding that he will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord that cost him nothing.

In response to David’s offering, the Lord averted the plague from Israel.

While thinking about this passage, I got to wondering if I have been in the habit of giving offerings, whether they might be time or money, service or items, to the Lord without them actually costing me anything. It would not really be an offering unto the Lord from my heart then, if it had not cost me anything.
I suppose it could be said, and some may say, or believe, that in a situation like King David’s, or in our lives, someone may give a gift for the purpose of the offering, or God supplied it. But in that case, that offering is not an offering from us, because it cost nothing for us to offer it, we were just using the items basically for display purposes.

It seems obvious that God approved what David did, because He stopped the plague from hitting the Israelites, but of course we will never know what would have happened if King David had accepted the items at no cost.

Anyway, it seems right to me to only give an offering to God if the offering is going to cost me something.

I am able to belong to the family of God for one reason only. That one reason is because our God gave His huge sacrifice, His Son and my Saviour, Jesus Christ, to come to this sin plagued earth, and die on a cross on Calvary for my sin, for each of ours’ sins, so we may have a relationship with Him.

I am so grateful for this gift of Salvation, I give myself, and what I have to Jesus Christ, He gave His life for me. HALLELUJAH!!

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Evangelism, Faith, Forgiveness, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

