God’s Comfort Through Prayer

I am a very Blessed man. I have a loving wife and family, along with friends whocare, and pray. As well, we have a loving, caring Church Family, with Pastors who lead the way by example, as their lives demonstrate God’s Love, living, teaching and believing God’s Word.

There are many verses in the Bible that I realize I say “one of my favourite passages is”, and that will not change, and many more will probably be added, as I love the entire WORD OF GOD, knowing it is all TRUTH, and God is speaking to me through it.
Anyway, below is one of those passages I have loved, thought on, and shared for years.
2 Corinthians 1:3-4
3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 

4 who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

Recently, a realization hit that perhaps can get a lot deeper in living this passage.
A little history, that I will attempt to keep short. 🙂 March 26, 2012 there was a sudden ache come over my entire body, from the neck to the ankles, with no reason nor explanation. During the following months there were more visits to the Family Doctor than I had made during the previous 10-15 years. Along with the aching, I had lost 36 pounds in four months. My diet consisted of mostly soup and pasta, because my throat seemed like it was closing up, and there was difficulty swallowing.
An Endoscopy was taken on the throat, along with full body MRI, head MRI, Cat Scans, X-Rays, with nothing showing up except for arthritis through the body, but all Doctors thought there must be some other cause. 

There was terrific difficulty sleeping due to the pain, and many hours were spent walking around the house, crying out to Jesus, as well as literally crying tears. When asked, on a scale of 1-10, what the pain level was, my response quite often was “12”.

Finally a combination of meds were discovered that appeared to help the pain issue, somewhat and life appeared to move on.

Wait a minute now. Even though tests continued, attempting to find the cause of the health issues, a totally unrelated test discovered colon cancer. Once this was discovered, it did not take long to have surgery booked and completed.

The surgeon was excellent, removing all the cancer, so no chemo or radiation follow up was necessary.

A combination of The Healing Touch of Our Lord Jesus, and His Peace, Prayer of His Saints, along with the skills and wisdom given to the Doctor and complete medical team by our God, gave the complete success.

As the Comfort of God was received by me, I realized how the above passage of Scripture should be activated more strongly through my life. And there have been instances when the Comfort of God could be shared.
Most recently, just 1½ weeks ago, on Feb. 12/17 I suffered a stroke while at home. With the quick action of my wife calling 9-1-1, the response and action of the Firefighters who arrived first, and EMS ambulance personnel, waiting ER Staff at the hospital, there was great teamwork. 
Along with the medical team, a Powerful Prayer Team from across Canada and U.S.A knelt into action. I am so thankful to our Lord Jesus for His Touch and Peace during this time, and so thankful to the many Prayer Warriors who interceded on my behalf, including family, friends, fb friends, church family, Pastors including our Lead Pastor and Pastor of Care from Waterloo Pentecostal Assembly, who came to the ER to see me, and pray.
Again I was blessed greatly by my Saviour and Lord, Jesus Christ. By the time I was moved from Emergency to ICU, the improvement had started, and continued Monday until full recovery was recognized by all Tuesday morning. 
During the testing over the next few days, two physiotherapists, as well as an occupational therapist, told me they had never seen a stroke recovery as fast as this was. As well, three of the nurses who work regularly on the stroke floor, also commented independently of the therapists or each other, that this was the best and fastest recovery they had ever see. One more interesting note, as the “chief” therapist came by for the final check before discharge, after saying Hi, her words were. “ I have heard all about you from the other therapists.

Again, I give all Thanksgiving, Praise, Glory to my Saviour and Lord, Jesus Christ. Without Him I am nothing.
Also, this experience caused me again to reflect on the Scripture mentioned above. A time to be seeking Jesus, knowing His leading in being able to share His Comfort, Peace and Love.
Spending time with Jesus Christ, in prayer, reading His Word, the Bible, and listening for His instruction through the Word or by His Spirit, will always lead to the will of God, and giving Him Glory.

A deeper fervency, excitement, expectation has grabbed me, drawing me to seek more time, areas for prayer.
Praise Jesus.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Praising God, Prayer, Serving Others, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God’s Comfort Through Prayer

  1. Sid Wood says:

    Awesome testimony to His grace and the realization that He (Jehovah Rapha) is still in the healing business as the Great Physician. I saw some hints on Facebook, but had no idea of the full story. Be BLESSED, my Brother.

  2. Ahh, amen! So glad to hear you are on the mend. God is good, indeed. May you continue to be greatly blessed and always in our prayers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

