Jesus Christ Is THE LIGHT Through Darkness 

Psalms 18:28
For it is you who light my lamp;

the LORD my God lightens my darkness.

As I read this verse today, I really don’t know why, but I stopped at it, read it many times, as short as it is, and couldn’t remove the thought from my mind that there is something to learn here. I could not get beyond this verse, thinking there must be something I need to learn or remember, or something for someone who may read it some day.
It is no secret that for all who do not know Jesus Christ as Saviour, this world is a dark place, even though many do not realize it. We, who do have a personal relationship with Christ, know that Jesus Christ is the Light of the World, and it is He who gets us through the darkness.
John 8:12
“Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” “

As I think of these Scriptures now, and having a focus on the John 8:12 verse, I notice that Jesus said “whoever follows me will not walk in darkness”.
Another important thought, do I keep my eyes on Jesus Christ, or do I get distracted? Do I allow something or someone to come between Christ and myself, therefore losing sight of Him, and Light, and wandering in the dark?

A few nights ago, I was having trouble sleeping, as happens periodically. I got out of bed, to go to the living room to sit and read for a while. I know exactly where the living room is in regard to the bedroom, we have lived in this house for twenty years. One “little item” I did not take into consideration though, was that the night light we previously had in the living room, directly in line with the hallway, was no longer there, it had been unplugged. And of course, this had been an extremely dark night, with clouds covering any stars and the moon.
It seemed like a long hallway, till the end of it was reached, and I did arrive at the lamp by my chair. I only turned too early once, banging into the wall.

I mention all that, for two reasons, now that I am writing. If my eyes come off Jesus Christ for any reason, if I focus on something or someone else, or I allow something to become a priority in my life, and I am not looking to Jesus, I will be walking in darkness. That particular darkness will be much worse than walking down a hallway that I know well, and banging into a wall. My life could be in darkness, gloom and doom forever, without looking to Jesus Christ for guidance.
Secondly, if I allow something or someone to come between myself and Jesus, it may not just be me who will suffer. Anyone who has looked to me for mentoring, leading, or as an example, would then be blocked from seeing Jesus shine through me also, because of that blockage. In that case, I will be answering to Jesus someday also, for leading another astray, away from He who is LIGHT.

So, back to the top, I am so thankful that Jesus Christ is my Light, and gives me guidance each day to walk through this earth, and fulfill His plans. 
I am also thankful that Jesus does not give up, and the Light never goes out. When I allowed a blockage between Jesus and myself, He never made it permanent, and Holy Spirit kept calling me until I returned. Hallelujah!!

Again, Jesus said, “I am the Light of the world”. That means He is the Light for everyone. It does not matter what your background is, what you have done, or not done. Holy Spirit is calling all persons to Jesus, regardless of race, colour, religious beliefs, lifestyle. He is, and has, the perfect way for each of us. Talk to Jesus, admit being a sinner, ask His forgiveness, and He will become your LIGHT through the darkness as well.
God Bless.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Evangelism, Faith, Forgiveness, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Christ Is THE LIGHT Through Darkness 

  1. Sherron says:

    Who wants to stumble around in darkness? The whole world craves light, as satellite photos of earth reveal vast populated areas lit up at night. It is so good to be reminded that Jesus is our True Light!
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

