Praying As God Desires

Psalms 69:13
But as for me, my prayer is to you, O LORD.

At an acceptable time, O God,

in the abundance of your steadfast love answer me in your saving faithfulness.

Living in this “instant” society is good at times, but can be a spoiler at the same time. We turn the TV switch on, instantly the screen is filled. The microwave prepares / reheats food quickly. Tassimo and Keurig coffee machines fill a cup with coffee in a minute. 
It is at the point where if “high speed internet” makes us wait for 2 seconds to get the web site we want, panic attack almost sets in.

When we pray, we want instant answers also, but we want the answers to be in our favour. At times, I am sorry to say, the same thought pattern is there as when we pull up to a drive thru at a fast food establishment. We place our order at the speaker, drive to the window, and everything is there waiting for us, just as we requested, and it doesn’t matter if all the extra salt on the fries, or the 4 spoons of sugar in the coffee are good for us or not, it is given just as we ask. The people taking the order, preparing the order, and handing it through the window are just doing their job, our health is not their concern.
God is altogether different, He loves each of us, He knows and wants what is best for us.
Oh, if I could be like King David. He prays, acknowledging his prayer is to God. So far, so good, I do that. But then King David says “at an acceptable time, in the abundance of your steadfast love, answer me in your saving faithfulness.”

There is the difference, King David said “at an acceptable time”, what do we I usually say or think, “now would be very nice”

God loves us too much to answer all our prayers, as we ask Him, in the time frame we ask.
I am working at trying to rely more on Holy Spirit during times of prayer. I know that when He leads me, my prayer will be as our Heavenly Father wishes, and in the way that He will probably answer. I know God’s way and time is best, so I am trying to sit back, praising God, and praying, patiently waiting when necessary.
I am so happy that Jesus has patience with me.

God’s Blessings.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Praising God, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

