We May Hear, But Are We Listening

Luke 5:17On one of those days, as he was teaching, Pharisees and teachers of the law were sitting there, who had come from every village of Galilee and Judea and from Jerusalem. And the power of the Lord was with him to heal.

Luke 5:21
And the scribes and the Pharisees began to question, saying, “Who is this who speaks blasphemies? Who can forgive sins but God alone?”

In reading Luke 5:17, the word “he” in the phrase “he was teaching” refers to Jesus Christ. According to the punctuation, the comma after “teaching”, the Pharisees and teachers who were sitting there, were not there to be taught, they were just sitting there, passing time, or waiting to judge or condemn, possibly.
In Luke 5:21 we do read that the scribes and Pharisees began to question the words and actions of Jesus.
My first reaction in going through, and contemplating this passage, was, why and how could these people sit in the area where Jesus is teaching, and not have convictions of things in their own lives come upon them. Sitting there, hearing the words of Jesus Christ, the long awaited Messiah, God Himself, and not paying attention, it is hard to imagine.
It didn’t take long until Holy Spirit started to speak to me about this, asking if I have sat in a church service, hearing every word that was said, but not listening to what was said.

I had to confess that it has happened. I mean, I could not lie to the Spirit of God, He knows all. 

There have been times when my mind has been preoccupied, when I was distracted by thoughts that were important in life, but not more important than God’s Word. Some distractions may have been from less important things also, just being honest here.

Of course I thought I had the answer for Holy Spirit, when I said, “ But that was Jesus Himself sitting there teaching them, if He was here I would always pay attention.”

I was gently told by the Spirit of Jesus, in response, “When you have been hearing these Pastors, these are people whom I have called, I have appointed, I have anointed to preach and teach about Jesus, the Christ, and to give glory to God. I lead them in ways to teach, and encourage you and others to speak of Jesus in your everyday living, and I will strengthen you and others as you do this.”
What could I do, but say thank you, asking Holy Spirit to help me in listening so I am ready as He leads, and ask Jesus to forgive me for not always be attentive to His Word being taught.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christian Living, Christianity, Evangelism, Forgiveness, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We May Hear, But Are We Listening

  1. dizzyfeet says:

    This does open my eyes to the same issue. I tend to believe I’m absorbing every word our new pastor says but in reality I have shut my heart because he is new and that’s definitely not something I am proud of. But I realize this now. Thank you for your post!

    • gmgoetz says:

      Thank you for your “like” and comment. We have a new Pastor also, as of last Sunday, Oct. 9. His goal, and my prayer, is for all of us to be focused on our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, and not on the Pastor.
      Change is always interesting. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

