Routine versus Commitment 

While watching a talk by Erwin McManus, Pastor of Mosaic in Los Angeles, I was struck by a statement he quoted from a pro athlete that can be applied to all things we do in life I believe.
This athlete was apparently a superstar all through high school and college, was drafted high, and doing well in pro. In a conversation with a coach one day, about training, practice, and playing in games, the athlete commented on the routine he has had all through his sporting life, of the activities he did to get in shape, stay in shape and play well.
The coach was interested, and made one life changing statement to his young athlete. That statement was that everything he did in that area of life was a routine, and not a commitment to the sport or team. That changed everything for him, he became committed to the sport and team, was working for them not himself, and he improved even more.

How can we look at ourselves, and apply this to our life? 
Is my daily Bible reading done because of routine, or because of my commitment to Jesus Christ?
Is my prayer and praise time part of my life routine, or because of my commitment to Jesus Christ?

Is my church attendance because of routine, or because of my commitment to Jesus Christ and the fellowship of Christ Believers?

Is my lifestyle because of my routine, or because of my commitment to Jesus Christ and desire to be like Him?

Is my desire to share Christ with others because of routine, or because of my commitment to Jesus Christ, and desire to do what He did, and have others accept Him?

There are probably many more areas of life that could be listed, but this is a start, and I believe anyone reading this will get the gist of it, and understand my thoughts.
It is a TRUE COMMITMENT to my LORD and SAVIOUR, JESUS CHRIST that I desire to live by, and be known by. Nothing else is worthwhile if that is not in place as number one priority.
God’s Blessings.
                   

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Reaching Out, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

