Listening In Prayer

Psalm 5:1-2“Give ear to my words, O LORD;

consider my groaning.

Give attention to the sound of my cry,

my King and my God,

for to you do I pray.”
When we are calling out to God at times, we really don’t know how to pray, because through human eyes everything seems impossible. I know Scripture tells us when we don’t know what or how to pray, the Spirit of God will pray for and through us, but I believe it is up to us to listen “for” God to speak to us, and then listen “to” God speak to us.

I will give a brief example of what I mean and how my life has been affected.
In 1979 my Dad was 61 years of age, in the hospital, having difficulty breathing due to a collapsed lung and a fluid filled lung. He could not speak due to the lack of air, and could not even walk the 5 or 6 paces to the bathroom beside his bed. The Doctor told us to prepare, because Dad had 24-48 hours to live.

I was home that night praying, trying to pray, and cried out to God, literally and figuratively, “God, I don’t even know how to pray for Dad tonight, what do I say?” 

Our Heavenly Father spoke only a few words to me, so clear and plain, as if He was standing beside me as I knelt at my bed, He said, “Be specific for what you ask.” It was that simple and that short.

Thinking back, my spirit obviously knew it was God speaking, because I started praying again immediately.

This time I prayed, “Father, I ask You, in Jesus Name to remove all the fluid from Dad’s one lung, and fill his second lung with fresh, pure air to capacity. I thank You, Father, in the Name of Jesus I Praise You.” Next I hopped into bed, with a calmness and slept right away.

The next day I went to the hospital during my lunch hour, and I could hear Dad laughing before I got to his room, which was a good sign. Dad was well, breathing normal, feeling good, sitting up in bed. He said the Doctor had just been in, could not understand the difference in one day, and said so everyone in the room heard, “This is a miracle.”
Dad was kept in the hospital for three more days, to continue checking him, then was home for 4-5 days before returning to work. He worked until age 65, and lived until age 85. Praise Jesus.

I write all this, to share the importance of listening for our God to give instructions to us. Also, the lesson I learned about praying specifically when possible, rather than a general prayer in situations, we need to name what we are requesting. A great difference has been noticed in prayer answers over these 37 years.
God’s Blessings

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Praising God, Prayer, Serving Others, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

