Hearing The Voice Of God

Hearing The Voice Of God
“And the Lord called Samuel again the third time. And he arose and went to Eli and said, “Here I am, for you called me.” Then Eli perceived that the Lord was calling the boy. Therefore Eli said to Samuel, “Go, lie down, and if he calls you, you shall say, ‘Speak, Lord, for your servant hears.’” So Samuel went and lay down in his place. And the Lord came and stood, calling as at other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” And Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant hears.” Then the Lord said to Samuel, “Behold, I am about to do a thing in Israel at which the two ears of everyone who hears it will tingle.”
‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭3:8-11‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Can you imagine hearing God call your name? Have you heard God call your name? Did you know it was God calling you?
How about as you are reading the Written Word of God, have there been passages that seem to jump off the page, or were written just for you? God speaks often times through His Word.

God also speaks into a person’s spirit, by His Spirit, and we just know that it is God giving direction in some way.
We can note above as God was calling Samuel, and Samuel did not yet know the voice of God, Samuel went to Eli the priest, but apparently Eli was not accustomed to hearing God calling either. A good thing to note in this passage is that God did not give up, He kept calling until Samuel eventually learned to answer Him.

Many years ago, I heard the audible voice of God. I was a Christian, serving Jesus Christ at the time, but never expected to hear an audible voice of God.
When I first heard His voice, I turned around, thinking someone was behind me, but there was no one there. I was walking outside working, on my own, so I kept going. When I heard Him speak again, even though my name was not used, God asked me a question. The question was “Do you want a closer walk with me”? Obviously my answer was “YES LORD”. As I looked back later, and even now, as I write this, how did I know it was God? He never told me who He was, but I just knew the voice of God, without a doubt.

Following my answer, He told me that it was me blocking a closer relationship, and what I had to do to be closer. I disagreed with God, (how dumb could I be), and I argued with Him for twenty minutes, as He had patience with me. Finally I agreed with Him, and followed through.

What God had told me, was that I had to go and ask forgiveness of some friends of mine and my wife, who I was jealous of. That is where I disagreed, because I did not feel jealous, or think I was jealous. He said I had feelings of jealousy because I had thoughts that God was closer to them than to me. I had never realized that, but I know “Father Knows Best”.

We were / and are still, best friends, the other couple and my wife and myself for almost 40 years now.

When my work day was complete, I was nervous as to the response I might receive but put everything in the Lord’s hands, knowing if He said to do this, it would be ok.

After a couple delays, I went to their home. Once I explained everything to them, we cried, prayed, and laughed together.

I guess I am sharing this to let others know God still speaks to His children today, in various ways. He tells us to do things at times that are hard, and may be in regard to things we are not even aware of. 
God always tells us to do things that will benefit us and Glorify Him. Praise Jesus.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christ Following, Christian, Caring, Helping Others, Homelessness, Street People, Loving Others, Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Forgiveness, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hearing The Voice Of God

  1. Amen! God still speaks and hears and answers prayer.

Leave a Reply

