SPIRITUAL WELLS

SPIRITUAL WELLS29 And Abimelech said to Abraham, “What is the meaning of these seven ewe lambs that you have set apart?”
30 He said, “These seven ewe lambs you will take from my hand, that this may be a witness for me that I dug this well.”

31 Therefore that place was called Beersheba, because there both of them swore an oath. – Genesis 21:29-31

In the above verses we see that Abraham dug a well, in fact Abraham dug many wells, since he needed good water for his family and animals as he travelled the countryside.
It took payment, lots of hard work, and many hours of work to dig these wells, but it was a necessity, and that was the price that had to be paid.

“Come, everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and he who has no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without price. – Isaiah 55:1
In contrast to Abraham having to make a payment, sweat and dig wells to have water for his family and animals to survive, we are able to have Living Water within us, at no cost to us, because Jesus Christ already paid the price with His suffering, death on the cross, and resurrection.
“Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.’””   ‭‭John‬ ‭7:38‬ ‭ESV‬‬

“but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.””   ‭‭John‬ ‭4:14‬ ‭ESV‬‬

For all who believe in Jesus Christ, and become Christ Followers, we will have rivers of Living Water welling up to eternal life, and flowing from us, to others, and we will never thirst again.
(Now the Philistines had stopped and filled with earth all the wells that his father’s servants had dug in the days of Abraham his father.) – Genesis 26:15
Just as in the days of Abraham, when Philistines filled all the wells with earth, we have an enemy of our soul who desires to fill our well of Living Water with pollutants and poisons, blocking it up.
This can happen to anyone, in a variety of ways, if one is not on guard, and does not have others, whether mentors or accountability partners to help. In my case, when I was young, I had neither, and the battles against me won for a number of years. Even though my parents were both Christ Followers, and good living people, it was more of a legalistic Christianity than Christ Living teaching. 

As I hit my teen years, there were lots of things and people planted everywhere it seemed to fill my well with things of the world. Nothing seemed to be going on of interest in church, and some school friends liked going to drag races on Sundays, so some earth got thrown into the well as I went along with them. Next, roller skating was fun with lots of fun people, on Sunday nights, so another part of the well filled. As a few more years went by, other sporting events consumed my time, so gradually my entire life was consumed with entertainment via sporting participation or spectating, and the Spiritual well was filled to overflowing with things.

This is not to say any of the sporting events were bad in themselves, but I allowed them to consume me and my time, with no thoughts of having time for my soul, spirit, or Jesus Christ, whom I had given my life to years before.

There can be all kinds of things, some bad, some that in themselves are not bad, that can be used by the enemy to fill our spiritual well, and plug the Living Water from quenching our thirst, or reaching others. 
O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. – Psalm 63:1
During the years when my well was plugged with earthly things, I didn’t really realize it, but I was searching for a thirst quencher that I had already had, but blocked Him out, Jesus Christ.
So he built an altar there and called upon the name of the LORD and pitched his tent there. And there Isaac’s servants dug a well. – Genesis 26:25
He called it Shibah; therefore the name of the city is Beersheba to this day. – Genesis 26:33

Years after the wells that Abraham had dug were filled by the Philistines, Abraham’s son, Isaac, was searching out that area, and his servants dug a well in the same vicinity of Beersheba, that was good.
With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation. – Isaiah 12:3
Just as Isaac, his family, and the servants rejoiced at finally again getting good water, my family and I rejoiced when I dug a new well and was filled again with Living Water. When we get water from the wells of Salvation, we know true joy, we know true life.
I suggest to anyone who does not have the Well of Living Water within them through the free gift of Salvation given by Jesus Christ, to ask for Him for forgiveness of your sins, and surrender to Jesus, and you will have this Salvation.
For any who have known Christ, but have allowed your Spiritual Well to be filled with any of the pollutants etc., or even filled with good, clean dirt, to return to Jesus for His Living Water, because even good, clean, dirt is still dirt.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christ Following, Christian, Caring, Helping Others, Homelessness, Street People, Loving Others, Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Forgiveness, Jesus, Prayer, Serving Others, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

