Words: How We Use Them

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

‭‭Psalm‬ ‭19:14‬ ‭ESV‬‬

This is another verse that is so easy to read, skimming over it, thinking it is a great verse, BUT how often have I truly considered what it is actually saying? 
Since my goal in life is to truly live according to God’s Word, I need to slow down on some of these verses, and consider, internalize, meditate and act accordingly.
Is each and every word that I speak, and every meditation of my heart acceptable to God, my Lord, my Saviour, the One who gave His life for me? I am sorry to say they are not.
How about the sarcastic comments made to friends, even in joking, or even worse, to my wife? I know they are not pleasing, acceptable or worshipful to Jesus.

What about the times I am following someone down the highway going 10-15 mph below the speed limit, and I can’t pass? Or what about when there are signs indicating the road is narrowing ahead, and someone speeds past in the lane that is ending, expecting people who have been in the proper lane, and going slower to let him in? Or my biggest pet peeve, the guys who park in the lane ways of a plaza, waiting, or leave their truck sit there while they run inside to get cigarettes or a lottery ticket?

My thoughts are not obscene, nor swearing, but I guarantee they are not honouring to Jesus either. Time for another life changing moment and plan that can only be obtained with the Holy Spirit.

Lord Jesus, I ask Your forgiveness, and the cleansing by Your Blood, for sarcastic words I have spoken and thoughts I have had. I know everything I do and say, Lord Jesus, is to be acceptable in Your sight, and I fail often. My words and thoughts are to be a form of worship also, thank You for Your forgiveness Lord, and for Strength in Your Spirit’s Power to be an Overcomer and give You Glory.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Blessing,, Christ Following, Christian, Caring, Helping Others, Homelessness, Street People, Loving Others, Christian Living, Christianity, Jesus, Praising God, Prayer, Serving Others. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

