WAIT ON THE LORD

Jan. 21, 2016“I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”

‭‭Psalm‬ ‭27:13-14‬ ‭ESV‬‬

So often I have heard people say, and I admit I have uttered the words also, that “ I can’t wait to get to Heaven and see my Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, who came to earth from the Glories of Heaven, to suffer and die for me so I may spend forever and ever with Him,” and get away from these troubles.
Many also have plenty of negative comments to say about earth, and what is happening. That is so easy to do. It is time for a mind / attitude / spirit change, ( oh, how Holy Spirit keeps talking). There is so much good in this God created world. There are so many good people, Christ Followers, serving others, making our communities better places. There are also many “good” people, not YET Christ Followers who need Jesus but haven’t realized, or accepted that fact yet.

We always need to get back to God’s Written Word because it directs us to the Living Word of God, Jesus the Christ. As the Word says “Look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living”. This is followed by “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”
I think that means, don’t rush into things on our own, be strong, have a courageous heart as we look to Jesus. It emphasizes, by repeating, “Wait on the Lord.”
At times, when things are going well, that seems so easy. But as we probably all realize, all in life does not go well all the time, and we need to look for the good stuff, be strong and wait for the Lord. These are choices we actually have to make.
In 2012 I had to make these choices, and it was not always easy, even when I knew Jesus was always with me. On the afternoon of March 26, suddenly, (when “suddenly” is used in the Bible as Jesus speaks or does something miraculous, I love it, in real life these days it is not always so good), my entire left side from neck to foot was engulfed in pain, extreme pain. It was constant so I made a Doctor appointment the next day to get checked. The pain persisted, and to ease it I was given a number of painkillers over time. Many tests were taken, including two MRIs, bone scan, endoscopy, countless blood tests, CatScans, with the only thing showing being arthritis. The Doctor saw that, but noted the pain was too severe to be arthritis alone. Testing was done all through summer, with higher doses of pain meds added. In September, during a completely unrelated test, it was discovered I had colon cancer. Surgery was performed quickly, and the entire cancer was cut out, PRAISE JESUS. But this did not get rid of all the aches, they were lessened somewhat though.
During the time from March to September, I and many others on my behalf were calling out to God. The goodness of the Lord was there always, I saw it in others, but I had to later repent, I wasn’t seeing it for me, and I was not being very courageous, but I was trusting and waiting on the Lord. I did not sleep much those six months, as I would walk around the house many nights crying out to God, literally crying from pain, and wanting to give up. 
BUT GOD was always with me, and carried me when needed.
I guess I write this long post to say, LOOK TO GOD, HIS GOODNESS; BE STRONG; HAVE A COURAGEOUS HEART; WAIT ON THE LORD!

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

