Taking Friends To Jesus

Mark 2:2-4 ESV
“And many were gathered together, so that there was no more room, not even at the door. And he was preaching the word to them. And they came, bringing to him a paralytic carried by four men. And when they could not get near him because of the crowd, they removed the roof above him, and when they had made an opening, they let down the bed on which the paralytic lay.”

This is an interesting story that I love. I have written and shared previously on it, but here is a different perspective, a two sided perspective for personal consideration.

Four friends carried a paralyzed friend to see Jesus, and went to the extreme of climbing onto the roof, cutting a hole in the roof, and lowering the man to where Jesus was. Those guys were some kind of friends.
Consideration one is, are we part of a community where we have friends who would do that. The text tells us they were friends, and says nothing about being family members. We don’t know how far they walked, what chores or business they set aside to do this for their friend, but they did it. They were good friends.

Second consideration, am I, are we, that type of friend. If we can help someone, if there is a need, do we set everything aside to help? If we have an opportunity to be with a struggling friend, and take them to Jesus, so to speak, do we? If a friend is not well, and needs something done, or to be taken somewhere, do we make ourselves available? Or, are we too busy enjoying ourselves, or doing other things for our own pleasure and benefit?

In the above text, it does not state, but my guess is that the paralyzed man did not call and ask his friends to carry him, my guess is that they saw the situation and seized the opportunity to be a blessing.
Our focus needs to be on others and not self centred so we can see a need someone has, and step in to take them to Jesus Christ, whatever that may be at that time.

Father God, please open my eyes and ears to the needs of others. Your Word shows me how to be a good friend, so I am asking Holy Spirit to guide and direct me with discernment to be a friend and carry others to Jesus and have their needs met. Thank You Father in Jesus Name.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking Friends To Jesus

  1. bradclarke says:

    Hey man
    I’m not religious but I like reading your blog posts. They make me think about things differently and i think your thoughts are wise
    How are you? Hope your surgery went okay

    • gmgoetz says:

      Hey Brad: thank you.
      I am doing good, thanks. The surgery went well, Doc and Nurse say they are happy with it.
      It will still take 4-5 weeks apparently till eye settles and I can get checked for new glasses.
      Right now I don’t need glasses for reading. The nurse said to go without them as much as possible. I don’t have many options because my old specs don’t do me much good now. If I look through the lower part of the bifocals, which was for reading, I see clear in the distance, but it is a bit difficult to wear them that way. So I am driving without specs also. Things are a little hazy, but I can see good enough, just no long drives or night driving for now. It sure seems strange though, I have been wearing glasses since I was 14, that was a looonnnng time ago. (69 now). 🙂

      How are you doing Brad? Any luck with finding a job yet? Do you have an apartment of your own now, or staying with friends, or how are you getting by? It is good to hear from you, and how your life is changing. God Bless my Friend. Take care of yourself. Looking forward to hearing from you.

      • bradclarke says:

        That’s cool man. I’m doing okay thanks, staying with a friend, been applying for a few jobs but not heard anything back yet. Life is going okay at the moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

