Attitudes/ Reactions / Responses


Proverbs 14:31 NCV
Whoever mistreats the poor insults their maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honors God.

Proverbs 17:5 ESV
Whoever mocks the poor insults his maker; he who is glad at calamity will not go unpunished.

Proverbs 19:17 ESV
Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord , and he will repay him for his deed.

Proverbs 22:9 NCV
Generous people will be blessed, because they share their food with the poor.

Matthew:42 ESV
Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.

Matthew 25:35-36, 40 NCV
“I was hungry, and you gave me food. I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink. I was alone and away from home, and you invited me into your house. I was without clothes, and you gave me something to wear. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.   
“Then the King will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, anything you did for even the least of my people here, you also did for me.  ” ”

Just want to throw a few thoughts into minds for consideration. To start, I believe probably everyone knows, or has heard of, the Scripture passage from Matthew 25 noted above. This is where Jesus is saying whenever we help or care for someone in need, it is the same as doing it for Him.

In looking at the four references to verses in the book of Proverbs we see that God always has high regard for folk who are poor and suffering, and it is the responsibility of Believers to care for the unfortunate. If we do not do that, we are insulting God.

Let’s go a step further, in Matthew 42 we are told to give to one who begs from us. That gets me to the heart of the matter. While walking through the core areas of many cities these days, or exiting expressways, more and more people are seen, male, female, young, older, asking for a bit of money for food or coffee, or wearing a hand printed sign saying he / she is homeless and in need.  

What is our response, what should it be? First of all we need to remember that each person encountered is a creation of God, just as we are, so they are to be treated with respect, and we actually should look at the person and respond.

You may not wish to give money, or may not have any with you, but it is still respectful to acknowledge the person and reply if they ask, without giving any sort of put down response.

I know many folk think that they don’t want to give money to feed an addiction, thinking all on the streets have that challenge, even if the street person says they are hungry. Some do, admittedly, but not all, some are legitimately hungry.  
Say, perhaps, you are going out for dinner with your spouse, family, friends, co-workers. The meal and fellowship are enjoyed, the bill is paid, along with a 15-20% tip. No one knows what the server will spend that tip money on, and it is probably not even thought about, and the amount given there would be much greater than what would have been dropped into a street person’s cap or cup.
Some also suggest carrying sandwiches to give out. Food for thought-would you accept a sandwich from a stranger walking down the street?

This item is just for personal reflection and consideration, we all need to seek God for what to do, but His Word does guide us in how to act. 

God’s Blessings

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Homelessness, Jesus, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, street people, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attitudes/ Reactions / Responses

  1. ERIC EASE says:

    Amen George. Thank you for posting this. I see many a day in my travels and sometimes I give and sometimes I don’t have it. But I always acknowledge them. I remember when it was me and its not a good feeling being ignored when you are in need of help.

  2. Reblogged this on Dizzy With Feet Planted and commented:
    Food for thought – would you accept a sandwich from a stranger walking down the street?

Leave a Reply

