Homeless In The Future? After This Life.

Regardless of where we live, when we walk or drive through the main part of our cities we will probably see a person who is homeless. As I believe I may have mentioned at previous times, some are homeless due to poor choices made and now the consequences are seen. Some are homeless through no fault of their own, but with the economy downgrading, places of business closing or downsizing, many jobs were lost. Some may be homeless and suffering because when things were going well, no thought was put into the future and no planning was done.

Whatever the cause or the situation of the homelessness, each person has value and is not to be looked down upon.

Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord, and he will repay him for his deed. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭19‬:‭17‬ ESV)

Whoever closes his ear to the cry of the poor will himself call out and not be answered. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭21‬:‭13‬ ESV)

In fact, we are supposed to help those going through difficult times, as if we were helping God Himself.

It is recorded in Scripture where Jesus Christ said:
For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ (‭Matthew‬ ‭25‬:‭35-40‬ ESV)

It is also shown in Scripture that we as humans are more than just a physical body. We have a soul and a body, another Scripture says heart and body, or another heart and flesh, and another still says spirit and flesh.

Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am in distress; my eye is wasted from grief; my soul and my body also. (‭Psalm‬ ‭31‬:‭9‬ ESV)

Psalm 16:9 Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.

Matthew 26:41 Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

This body of flesh that clothes the real person, the inner us, will die someday. But the inner person, the real person, the spirit, soul, or heart will live on, and we choose our destiny. Someday, after this body dies, we will see Jesus Christ before heading to our final destination.

For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, so that each one may receive what is due for what he has done in the body, whether good or evil. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭5‬:‭10‬ ESV)

It is recorded where Jesus told us about choosing our destination following the death of this fleshly body.

John 14:1-7 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

John 3:16-17 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.

Apostle Paul stated the Gospel clearly when the Spirit of God inspired him to write:
>
1 Corinthians 15:1-5 Now I would remind you, brothers, of the gospel I preached to you, which you received, in which you stand, and by which you are being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you—unless you believed in vain. For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures, and that he appeared to Cephas, then to the twelve.

We each have a choice to make. I have made my choice to be a Christ follower, and therefore believe I have the responsibility to be obedient and share the good news with others.

Back to the beginning of this writing, “Homelessness”. When Jesus returns to take each person who has accepted Him as Saviour Home to Heaven, there will be others left who never did accept Him and it will be too late, and they will be homeless. They will be sent someplace, but it will not be a homey place. The Bible says that place is called “hell”, with eternal punishment, terror, and pain. God sends no one there, people actually make the choice to go there when the choice is made to not follow Jesus Christ, Son of God, Saviour of all who call on His Name.

We come to Jesus and serve Jesus in faith

Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.

God’s Blessings.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Homelessness, Jesus, ministry, Prayer, Reaching Out, Serving Others, street people, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

