Are We What We Appear To Be?

Matthew 21:19
‘Seeing a fig tree by the road, he (Jesus) went up to it but found nothing on it except leaves. Then he said to it, “May you never bear fruit again!” Immediately the tree withered.’

From a distance the fig tree could be seen to have leaves on it and therefore should have fruit as well. When Jesus got to it, He saw that it had leaves only and no fruit.

This is an area of life that is extremely important. I need to be certain that my Christian life does not just look healthy from a distance, but that I am actually bearing fruit for our Lord.
Busyness can be like the leaves on the fig tree, all the activity may look good, but may hide the fact that there is no fruit growing, no spiritual growth, until someone looks closer.
I need to continually check each branch of my life and see if fruit is growing, or if it is only a facade with bunches of leaves (activities) hiding the emptiness of the barren branches.

The Holy Spirit will produce fruit as He is allowed, and He will also tell me when the leaves (activities) are hiding the branches that have no fruit on them. The Holy Spirit will also speak to me through others, so it is necessary to have a good and a close relationship with some others whom I trust, and who will look closely at my “branches of activity” and be honest.

Lord Jesus, touch me mightily once again so I will serve You boldly and in power, bearing fruit and giving You glory.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christianity, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Serving Others, Taking Others To Jesus, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

