BEING JESUS TO OTHERS — SEEING JESUS IN OTHERS

                                  BEING JESUS TO OTHERS
                                
SEEING JESUS IN OTHERS

It is always amazing how the Holy Spirit will bring things back to remembrance that were heard or read in the past. A number of years ago a sermon was heard, and a few years later a book read, that impacted me greatly, and re-confirmed God’s call and direction for my life.

The sermon was by Joyce Heron, given at W.P.A. Jan. 16, 2000. The book is entitled “God In The Alley”, by Greg Paul, a Toronto Pastor who also works on the streets in the downtown area.

These servants have been used by God to pour more fuel onto the burning that is going on within me. These were preparatory steps for what the Holy Spirit began, and I believe is going to continue happening in the future.

As I think and meditate on what I read and heard, and relate it to Scripture, there are definite actions to be carried out.

Scripture says we are Ambassadors of Christ, therefore we are His representatives every place we are. At all times our actions and attitudes should be those of Jesus. The Fruit of the Spirit is to be evident in us, and others should see Jesus Christ in us.

As we reach out to help others in a variety of ways, it should be Jesus that people see in us.

 Then there is another aspect of this entire concept. This second aspect is one of seeing Jesus in others.

In Matthew 25:35-36 we read “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

When questioned as to when this all happened, Jesus replied in Matthew 25:40 “I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.”

 It seems to me that when I see someone with a need that I can meet, I am to do it. When I see a person with a need, I see Jesus in that person, and do whatever I can, the same as I would do for Jesus, because I am serving as unto Jesus.

When I see a need I can meet, I shouldn’t wait to be asked, but should act immediately, since I am seeing Jesus in that person and serving Him.

So many people we come into contact with have needs of various kinds. Some have a need to talk. Some have a need of direction or counsel.

As we are sensitive to the Holy Spirit, He will give discernment and wisdom.

 As I think of those who are hurting in so many ways, my heart and spirit begin weeping for each one. When praying and calling out to Jesus on behalf of each one who is hurting, tears come to my eyes. While sobbing, I ask the Lord, “What can I do?’ In response He says, “Feed me, give me a drink, hug me, listen to me, talk with me, supply my needs, care for me, love me, be my friend.”

When I see some persons sitting, looking so desolate and sad, my desire is to serve them as serving Jesus, and share Light into their lives.

Some of the people act so boisterous and rambunctious, but in many cases it is an act only. They are hiding their innermost feelings, and not admitting the truth, even to themselves. Even if it is not totally accepted, each needs to be served as well, as I am serving Jesus, and seeing Jesus as each is served.

I need to love the unlovable, because Jesus has loved me.

Sometimes a person will ask for a small amount of money for bus fare or laundry. At times people are encountered on the street asking for money.

My response should not be an automatic “NO”. I am giving as unto Jesus.

When I argue that the person may use the money unwisely, I am reminded of Joyce Heron’s words asking how often I have used unwisely much of what God has given me.

The blessings our Lord Jesus keeps pouring into my life are not to be hoarded and kept, but to be given to others as well.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Jesus, ministry, Reaching Out, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

