A DESIRE TO WALK BY FAITH

A DESIRE TO WALK BY FAITH
Sometimes things seem so farfetched, things that we feel led to follow through on, that we know it is impossible….except for BUT GOD!!!

The thing is, do we follow through even though we see the human impossibility of it, and trust God in it completely?

Or, do we set it aside, and think that it was a good thought, and maybe someone else will be called?

I have been reading a book recently, “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. Of many great comments in the book that cause one to think, there is one quote that was asked the class by a Professor while the author was in Bible College. This particular question affected him deeply, and when I read the question it affected me as well, and has been in my mind daily. The question is……         ”What are you doing right now that requires faith?”

As I ponder this question, the various aspects of life are going through my mind. In each segment of my life, am I going through these areas depending on Jesus to get me through, or is everything I do within the realm of doing it myself.

We read in Hebrews 11:6
But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

 Am I diligently seeking God in all things, and then listening for, and following instructions?  I like to think so, but then I go back to the question, and wonder if each thing I am doing is actually something that could be done on my own, without relying on God. If that is the case, then I am not pleasing God and will not be a recipient of His rewards.

Then again, I want to do things, not just to be rewarded, but to please God, and be a true follower and disciple of His.

 In Hebrews 11:1 it is stated:
Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”

 Has the Holy Spirit given direction to act in a manner where the end result cannot yet be seen, and have I missed it, or even worse, rejected it? Have a number of thoughts and ideas that I have had over the years actually been the Holy Spirit leading, and because I could not see the entire plan, or find others to be in agreement, did I set them aside as idle thinking only?

Hebrews 11:7
“By faith Noah, being divinely warned of things not yet seen, moved with godly fear, prepared an ark for the saving of his household, by which he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith.”

 When Noah was told by God to build an ark, because the earth would be flooded by rain, Noah obeyed, even though it had never rained previously and Noah had no idea what rain was. Noah did what God asked, because God asked.

As we continue along this road of Life together with our Lord Jesus, when an idea is placed in our minds, let’s agree to check with the Holy Spirit to see if it is from Him, and then let’s agree to speak with others whom we trust and are walking with Jesus. As we pray, and join with others in prayer, let’s believe that the Holy Spirit will open eyes to see as He sees, and will open doors for us to walk through to Glorify our Lord Jesus, and increase the Kingdom of our Heavenly Father in mighty ways.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

