HEARING OF GOD VS. KNOWING GOD

HEARING OF GOD VS. KNOWING GOD

Job 42: 1-6

1 Then Job answered the Lord and said: 2 “I know that You can do everything, And that no purpose of Yours can be withheld from You. 3 You asked, ‘Who is this who hides counsel without knowledge?’ Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand, Things too wonderful for me, which I did not know. 4 Listen, please, and let me speak; You said, ‘I will question you, and you shall answer Me.’ 5 “I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, But now my eye sees You. 6 Therefore I abhor myself, And repent in dust and ashes.”

I know God can do all things, and no plan of His can be blocked. God’s goals will be fulfilled, although He may have to change the persons He desires to work through if the first person He calls does not follow His will.

Too often words are spoken without knowledge. Guesses are made about what God is doing and why. Since God’s plans are beyond our understanding, we need to wait upon Him, to get a revelation of what we should be doing.

Waiting upon God and listening to hear God are important to our being who He desires us to be, and doing what He desires us to do, and yet we rush through these times.

When we finally listen, we can be like Job and say,

My ears had heard of You
But now my eyes have seen You.”

Job came to the place where he was beyond only hearing of God, and knowing about God. Job actually knew God, and in his spirit saw God.

Along with Job also, I will say,

“I will despise myself and
repent in dust and ashes.”

In myself Father, there is nothing good. Apart from You, I am nothing and can do nothing good.

I want to really know You Father.
I want to know Your will.
I want to know Your desires.

I want to “do” Your will.
I want to “do” Your desires.

I want to know when You speak.

Father, I desire a boldness and an empowering from You to be seen in my life, that others will see You and come to know Jesus.

About gmgoetz

I am on the journey of life, attempting to follow the teachings of Jesus, live in His Love, and share His Love however He leads, and to whomever He leads.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Jesus, Reaching Out, Serving Others, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

